Healing Arts: Yoga in the Main Gallery

Event date: 
Repeats every week until Sat Jun 30 2012 except Sat Feb 18 2012.
Saturday, January 7, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, January 14, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, January 21, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, January 28, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, February 4, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, February 11, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, February 25, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, March 3, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, March 10, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, March 17, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, March 24, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, March 31, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, April 7, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, April 14, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, April 21, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, April 28, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, May 5, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, May 12, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, May 19, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, May 26, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, June 2, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, June 9, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, June 16, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, June 23, 2012 - 10:30am
Saturday, June 30, 2012 - 10:30am

Join yoga instructor, Vicki Rodriquez, every Saturday for a 1-hour yoga session in our Mayer Gallery overlooking downtown Boone.

All skill levels are welcome and mats can be provided if you don't own one.

 Cost is $10 per person. Registration begins at 10:15am.

*** Please note: Yoga will take place in the Main Gallery through July 2012 due to the artwork in the Mayer Gallery.

 

Instructor bio: Vicki Rodriquez

Although Vicki's interest in Yoga began years before, her practice became consistent in 2003 when she found herself settled in Alaska.  The Anusara inspired teachings and Yin Yoga influence of her first teacher and mentor strongly resonated with Vicki.  She completed a 30hr introductory teacher training course in Alaska before heading to Baja, Mexico where she obtained her 200hr certification at the Yandara Yoga Institute.  Vicki has now lived and taught Yoga within various locations in Boone since 2008. She has recently graduated from the Clinical Mental Health Counseling Masters program at Appalachian State.  She is grateful at this time in her life when all of her interests have come together in a complimentary manner.  Her studies at Appalachian included a concentration in Body-Centered Expressive Arts Therapy and she has discovered a passion for Gestalt Therapy which emphasizes "authentic presence." Vicki’s practice and dedication in Vipassana mediation has been the foundation. So far Vicki has found that whether we are sitting in silent meditation, engaged in art making, or stretching our bodies, when we “show up” authentically and give ourselves permission to be exactly who we are, an opening occurs in the body, the mind, and the heart. She honors this practice by holding the space for her students and encouraging them to explore.

Sponsor: 
Turchin Center for the Visual Arts
Contact name: 
Visitor & Member Services
Contact email: 
turchincenter@appstate.edu
Contact telephone: 
(828) 262-3017
Location: 
Turchin Center for the Visual Arts
Admission: 
$10 per person. Registration begins at 10:15am.

Find us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterTurchin Center on FlickrTurchin Center on Instagram

Upcoming events

Gallery hours